Master bedroom Renovation – Design inspirations

Standard

With our new hardwood in place (yay!), we’ve begun to move furniture back into the master – but this time I’m being picky about what goes in, and … you guessed it… another renovation/ redesign project. (My husband is groaning and shaking his head somewhere). 

Our master bedroom is a bit cavernous, and even with a king size bed (with a large upholstered frame) – I have always felt as though there was so much space to fill! I tried to put a large overstuffed leather armchair in the corner – but that ended disastrously (turned into a clothes and purses receptacle).

I brought in a gold occasional table and put a 42″ flat screen TV on it – but that was pointless too, since we don’t watch TV in bed (although I wish we did! SATC’s Carrie is probably right that that’s only fun at hotels…. ) . The occasional table also turned into a dumping spot for random things that had no home, like extra candle holders. Fail.

So anyway – I knew when designing the new master bedroom, I wanted to select purposeful pieces of furniture and decor, which really brought to life the design inspirations I had in mind: (click for pinterest links)

ImageImageImage

Where we are at in the project so far:

New bedding (I used a bunch of wedding gift certs to buy some pretty lilac bedding similar to the one in the third picture)
Accent pillows (some purchased, some made – tutorial on the pillows coming soon I hope)
Search for the perfect dresser (Read more about that hunt here)
– Window treatments
Night tables
– Lighting
Decor accent pieces
– (Optional) I’d like to have the TV mounted on an empty wall. (Maybe we’ll watch it if its prettier?)

I am scouring lighting websites for the perfect chandelier (YES, I’m obsessing over lighting, AGAIN… incidentally, I haven’t found a chandelier for the closet yet, grr).

Also, never having owned a sewing machine or really sewed anything isn’t stopping me from attempting to create drapes in the master bedroom. Yesterday I went to fabricland and picked out my drapery fabric. The picture isn’t great, but its a grey with lilac paisley drapery fabric.

Image

Only to find out that it was going on sale today, so I was told to come back to claim my 40% savings. So today, off I go, armed with my sketch. I’m planning on ignoring the raised eyebrows when they see my sketch and hear that I’ve never sewed, nor do I own a sewing machine.

My lofty design plans, lol:

Image

Wish me luck! 

Leave a comment